GWM gives private buyers something no other manufacturer in Australia does: 8 years with unlimited kilometres on the traction battery, with a 70% State of Health floor.

GWM's own wording is that "it is not considered a defect if the power battery pack's State of Health (SOH) has the reading equal or greater than 70%" — which is the same threshold as everyone else, but without a distance cap attached for private use.

Vehicles in commercial application are capped at 150,000 km.

GWM does not publish a transferability statement, so we have marked that unavailable rather than assume.

The terms

Applies toYearsKilometresCapacity floorTransfers
GWM Ora (BEV), Jolion HEV, H6 HEV, Tank 300 HEV, Tank 500 HEV8Unlimited (private) / 150,000 km (commercial)70%Not stated
GWM plug-in hybrids — Haval H6 GT PHEV, Cannon Alpha PHEVNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published

The separate vehicle warranty is 7 years with unlimited kilometres.

The plug-in hybrid gap

GWM's battery clause names only its hybrids and the Ora. Plug-in hybrids are not listed, and GWM's downloadable warranty terms document contains no high-voltage battery section at all — only a 12-volt battery clause at 12 months and 20,000 km.

So for a Haval H6 GT PHEV or a Cannon Alpha PHEV, the high-voltage battery position is simply not published in Australia. That is a gap worth resolving in writing before you buy, not after.

Why unlimited kilometres changes the calculation

Every other battery warranty in this market is a race between two clocks — years and distance — and for anyone driving more than about 20,000 km a year, distance usually runs out first. GWM removes that for private owners.

For a used Ora, it means the only question is the in-service date. A four-year-old Ora with 130,000 km on it still has four years of battery cover, where an equivalent MG would already be within 20,000 km of its limit.

What to check on a used GWM

  • The in-service date, which is now the only limit that matters for a private car
  • Whether the car has been in commercial use, which reintroduces the 150,000 km cap
  • Whether it is a PHEV, in which case the terms are not published at all
  • Which Ora variant — 45.4 or 59.3 kWh usable, a 14 kWh difference
  • The tested State of Health against the 70% floor

Terms verified 13 September 2026 from GWM Australia and New Zealand's warranty page. Transferability is not stated in GWM's published terms. Manufacturer terms change, and the terms that apply to any given car are those in force when it was first sold. Always confirm with the manufacturer for the specific vehicle.