If you have read an overseas review of the Kia EV5, the battery it describes is not the one in the Australian car. The EV5 sold here is built in China with a lithium-iron-phosphate (LFP) pack of 64.2 kWh or 88.1 kWh — figures Kia Australia quotes without saying whether they are usable or gross. European usable-capacity figures do not apply to this car and should not be used to judge it.

The packs Australia got

VariantYearsBattery (as quoted by Kia AU)Claimed range (WLTP)Real-world consumption
Air Standard Range 2WD2025–202664.2 kWh — usable/gross not stated400 km18.2 kWh/100km — manufacturer claim
Air Long Range 2WD2025–202688.1 kWh — usable/gross not stated555 km18.0 kWh/100km — manufacturer claim
Earth AWD2025–202688.1 kWh — usable/gross not stated500 km21.9 kWh/100km — measured, AAA Real-World Testing
GT-Line AWD2025–202688.1 kWh — usable/gross not stated470 km21.0 kWh/100km — manufacturer claim

The Earth figure is the one to trust. The Australian Automobile Association drove the car on real roads and measured 21.9 kWh/100 km — about 20% above Kia's own number for the same variant. On an 88.1 kWh pack that is roughly 400 km of real driving against a 500 km claim, and it tells you the AWD cars are thirstier than the brochure suggests.

Why the chemistry reverses the usual advice

LFP packs tolerate — and periodically need — a full charge. The battery management system estimates state of charge from a voltage curve that is almost flat across the middle of the pack, and it needs a 100% charge now and then to re-anchor that estimate. That is true of every LFP pack, and BYD and Tesla say so explicitly for theirs.

So on an EV5, "I always charged it to 100%" is normal and correct, not a red flag. And a car that has spent months at 30–70% may report a state-of-charge figure the BMS is less sure of, which can show up as odd range estimates rather than a degraded battery. It is one of the reasons a measured State of Health read is worth more than the dashboard range number on this car.

The warranty

Kia covers the high-voltage battery for 7 years or 150,000 km with a 70% capacity floor, transferable, on cars before model year 2027. That is a year and 10,000 km short of the 8/160,000 most rivals offer. Full terms: Kia battery warranty in Australia.

What to check before you buy

  • Which pack — 64.2 or 88.1 kWh, and whether the listing is quoting a European figure by mistake

  • Measured State of Health and cell voltage spread, because Kia does not publish a usable figure to compare against

  • When it last had a full charge, for the reliability of what the car reports

  • In-service date and odometer against 7 years and 150,000 km

Kia EV6 · Kia EV3 · Kia EV9 · Book a test — $249


Battery figures as quoted by Kia Australia, which does not label them usable or gross. The Earth AWD consumption figure is from the AAA Real-World Testing program; other consumption figures are Kia's WLTP claims. Verified 15 September 2026.